Guy Who Follows the Rules: How do you change the position of the ball after placing it in chosen lies?

Golf rules are hard to understand! Thank goodness we have the guru. The Rules Guy at our company knows the whole thing inside and out. Have a question? Everything he says is true.

Guy Who Follows the Rules: How do you change the position of the ball after placing it in chosen lies?

It’s a stroke-play game, and the preferred lie is in use. A player uses the ball’s alignment line to put her new ball back on the green. She’s not happy with the aim after taking off her mark. Can she mark the ball again and make changes? Thanks, Jim Donnelly from Tampa, Florida.

Sadly, she might not be able to. The player could play the ball again in any way she wanted because of the preferred lies local rule, MLR E-3, which doesn’t require putting down a ball marking.

But because of that local rule, you can only put the ball down once. Once the ball was down, the person could no longer lift or rotate it according to the rules. We hope she made it to the green despite everything.

For more help with job hiring from our expert, keep reading…

Read More: Top 10 Best Women Golfers of All Time, Ranked.

When my partner and I got to our drives, our golf balls were touching and perfectly set up to go into the hole. I marked my ball because it was in front of me. His approach made a huge divot, and putting my ball back where it was would have meant being in this new divot. I said I had the right to a free drop, but he told me I didn’t. Who was correct? — Brick Rigden, Saint Louis, Mo.

In a word, no.

You were supposed to get some help under Rule 14.2d, but you didn’t get a drop.

When you lifted for contact, you had to replace the ball. But if the lie of a ball that needs to be replaced changes, you have to replace it in a certain way. By changing it with a lie that is most like the original lie and is within one club-length of the spot in the same area of the course but not closer to the hole.

Read More: What grips do the best golfers in the world use? These are the specs for 9 of them.

(We should point out that your situation usually takes place in bunkers, but the process is the same.) Brick, we hope this news doesn’t hit you like a ton of bricks!

Do you need help getting the greens on your home course straight? Get yourself a Green Book from Golf Logix.

Do you have a question about the Rules? Talk to the Rules Guy! Ask questions, make sense of things, or leave notes at [email protected]. We promise that he won’t hit you with the book.

The post Rules Guy: Can you move the ball after putting it when playing preferred lies? showed up first on Golf.

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best deals on our WordPress themes.

You May Also Like

Prize money for each PGA Tour player in the 2024 Genesis Invitational

On the PGA Tour, doing well pays off. Just talk to Hideki Matsuyama, the winner this week.

The PGA Tour says Wyndham Clark “doesn’t look great” when he answers to the cheating claims.

Wyndham Hotel There were reports that Clark cheated at the recent Arnold Palmer Invitational, but Clark has not said anything about them. He said he wasn’t trying to hurt anyone, but he did say that what happened didn’t “look great.”

The PGA Tour commissioner hears boos during the trophy celebration at the Players Championship.

Some people booed when PGA Tour commissioner Jay Monahan was introduced at the trophy celebration for Players Championship winner Scottie Scheffler on Sunday. It wasn’t the first time either.

Tiger Woods was taken out of the Genesis Invitational and pulled out after an ambulance scare.

The par-4 7th hole on Friday marked the end of Tiger Woods’ Genesis Invitational.